MINUUTES Unitarian Church of Edmonton (UCE) Annual General Meeting (AGM)

May 7, 2023

Chair: Board president Mike Keast. Minutes: Board secretary Susan Ruttan In attendance: 46 people in person, 11 on Zoom.

- 1. **Call to Order** -- President Mike Keast
- 2. **Reading the Congregational Call** Susan Ruttan
- 3. **Invocation** Rev. Rosemary Morrison
- 4. **Adoption of Rules of Procedure** Moved by Ali Hammington, seconded by Art Breier, that the rules of procedure be adopted. CARRIED.
- 5. **Approval of Agenda** Moved by Karen Mills, seconded by Cathy Loiselle, that the agenda be approved. CARRIED.
- 6. **Approval of AGM 2022 Minutes** Moved by Susan Ruttan, seconded by Ali Hammington, that the minutes be approved. CARRIED.

Annual Reports

Moved by Jennifer Hinchcliffe, seconded by Ilara Stefaniuk-Gaudet, that the following annual reports be accepted and approved: Human Resources Report; Endowment Report: Rental Committee Report; Director of Spiritual Education Report; Caring Connections Report; and Governance Implementation Report. CARRIED.

Minister's Report – Moved by Sylvia Krogh, second by Zoe Larsen, that the minister's report be accepted and approved. CARRIED.

Ministerial Transition Team Report: Team chair Lynne Turvey reported on work of the team and on terms of employment of Rev. Rosemary Morrison. Moved by Lynne Turvey, seconded by Gloria Krenbrenk, that the report by accepted and approved. CARRIED.

Finances

The Auditor's Report and the Canvass Report were accepted by those members present.

Treasurer Andrew Mills gave a slide presentation about the state of church finances, and the need to start putting money aside for capital expenditures on the church building, which was bought 20 years ago. He proposed setting up a Capital Budget where money would be provided for building upkeep, such as roofs and furnaces.

Moved by Andrew Mills, seconded by Ali Hammington, that the proposed 2023-24 Operating Budget of Unitarian Church of Edmonton be approved, and that funds be provided for the first Capital Budget, to be created in the next year. CARRIED.

Leadership Committee Reports and Election

Committee chair Beth Jenkins was unable to verbally deliver her report because the Zoom link didn't allow her to be heard in the sanctuary. Board secretary Susan Ruttan delivered the committee's report instead. Members accepted the report.

Board President: Brandie Moller-Reid, by acclamation

Vice-President: No candidate yet, but a possible candidate early 2024.

Secretary: Susan Ruttan (second year of term)

Treasurer: Andrew Mills by acclamation (first year of a two-year term, his second)

Trustee, two-year term: Marilyn Gaa by acclamation Trustee, two-year term: Gerard Hayduk by acclamation Trustee, one-year term: Lynn Wolff by acclamation

Trustee, one-year term: Vic Romanyshyn (filling last year of Zoe Larsen's term) by

acclamation

Past-president: Mike Keast

Leadership Committee Members: Chair Beth Jenkins and member Donna Hamar are entering year two of a two-year term. Jennifer Hinchcliffe has finished a one-year term and will serve a two-year term on the committee, by acclamation. The committee needs one more member to meet its expected four members.

Bylaw Changes: Moved by Karen Mills, seconded by Gordon Ritchie, that the proposed changes to the UCE Bylaws be approved. CARRIED.

Major bylaw changes:

Section 6, No. 4: Reasons that the board might revoke a church membership have added one more reason: that the person's association with the church has become inactive through lack of attendance at services, lack of financial support for the church, doesn't respond to attempts to reach them, have not provided a means of contact.

Section 10, No. 4: The board's ability to approve spending without congregational approval has been expanded.

- c. The Board may approve up to a total of 10% of the annual operating budget. This includes non-budgeted contracts, adjustments to the operating budget, spending reserves, and unbudgeted capital spending. Larger amounts require congregational approval.
- d. Amounts over 10% may be spent in an emergency to prevent imminent damage to the church and property; however, a congregational meeting will need to be held as soon as practicable to ratify this action.

Section 13 Minister has been rewritten to reflect the various way of acquiring a minister now available: interim, contract or permanent (settled) minister. The size of the committee has been changed from seven to five.

CUC Annual Meeting Delegates: Audience members were informed that UCE delegates to the CUC annual meeting will be Maida Zederayko, Sylvia Krogh and Susan Ruttan. The CUC requires that delegates' names be filed by May 1, so it was impossible to wait for approval of the UCE annual meeting.

UCE Auditor: Doug Eastwell will be UCE auditor for another year, by acclamation. UCE members gave him a round of applause.

Awards:

Alexander Award (for dedicated volunteer service to our congregation): Lynne Turvey, for service on many committees, such as Ministerial Transition Team, Governance Implementation Team, Finance Committee, Human Resources Committee.

Potter Award (for outstanding volunteer work with non-profit groups outside the church): Karen Bilida, for her work supporting the Dragging Youth events.

Meeting adjourned.

