Date

Sep 23 2020
Expired!

Time

4:15 pm - 5:15 pm

CUC: Coffee Chat Debrief – Dr. Makokis & Anthony Johnson

Coffee Chat Debrief – Dr. Makokis & Anthony Johnson

Wednesday, September 23,

4:15 pm PT | 5:15 pm MT | 6:15 pm CT | 7:15 pm ET | 8:15 pm PT

In 2019, Dr. James Makokis and Anthony Johnson became the first two-spirit Indigenous couple to win The Amazing Race Canada. The pair used the competition as a platform to tackle topics like gender and sexual identity, racism, mental health, and the environment.

University of British Columbia (UBC) is featuring a talk by the couple who will share their personal transformations, from their early years facing adversity around two-spirit and Indigenous identities to a lifetime of education, transforming them into leaders, activists, and role models.

Join the CUC immediately following the UBC presentation for a Coffee Chat debrief.

Please register for the CUC Coffee Chat.

A separate registration is required for the UBC talk, which is not a CUC event.

https://irsi.ubc.ca/news-events/events/our-existences-are-political-identity-and-history-pathways-transformation